3/20/19

Book Review of Other Bodies by Joel Ohman


By on 3/20/2019 11:22:00 AM

Today, I have a young adult themed, futuristic novel in our book review spotlight.  This novel focuses on a number of controversial topics, including assisted suicide and abortion, and is written from a very strong, pro-life stance.  What did I think of Other Bodies by Joel Ohman?

About the Book



For fans of The Hunger Games, The Maze Runner, and Divergent comes a YA dystopian/light romance with a strong female protagonist who is forced to question everything…
In a world where immersive VR suits distort what is real from what is not, and the AI Personhood Act blurs the lines between body and bot, the choices sixteen-year-old Hattie Martins faces are very personal.

My Review

Other Bodies is not the typical YA Dystopian novel.  While the author indeed incorporates futuristic, virtual reality and artificial intelligence--the characters are not faced with the usual save the world from evil battles.  There are good vs. evil battles--but greed and "world domination" are not the central focus of this book as in many young-adult, end of the world storylines today.

Expect an intense, pro-life conviction in this book
. Through the early stages of this book, readers encounter a young character facing a huge decision:  carry an unplanned child or abort her.   Initially, the novel follows the ups and downs and pros and cons of Hattie's decision making--but, over the chapters, the author's pro-life stance becomes evident and holds strong through to the end of the book.  Set in a futuristic world, the author adds more impact to many of today's pro-life arguments.  Readers should not expect a "balanced" novel that seeks to suit both sides of the abortion debate.  This novel is controversial, thought-provoking--and troubling.

Young Readers won't find a happy ending in Other Bodies.  Most young adult novels move readers through moral and ethical dilemmas to a happy, positive resolution.  Other Bodies leaves readers instead with a lot of unresolved emotions and wondering where the story leads next for its characters.  Instead of driving readers to a saved world with redeemed characters and hopeful futures--the author doesn't give his characters redemption.  While religious in theme and stance--the author doesn't offer much by way of grace or forgiveness either.

Would I recommend Other Bodies by Joel Ohman? 
Other Bodies is not a book for everyone.  While those with strong, religious convictions and moral opposition to abortion may find themselves aligned with the author's stance--many less sided readers will find this novel disturbing and even depressing.  Pro-Choice readers will undoubtedly find it offensive.  Having said that--this was a book that I couldn't put down.  Other Bodies was a book that left me drawn to the characters and the story long after the last pages.  While my beliefs do not entirely align with the author's--I found his storyline a unique way to present his "side" of the abortion debate to his audience.    I would encourage readers to read the author's note detailing his motivations and intentions with this novel as you decide if this book is right for you.


Buy the Book



About the Author


Joel Ohman lives in Tampa, FL with his wife Angela and their three kids. His writing companion is Caesar, a slightly overweight Bull Mastiff who loves to eat the tops off of strawberries.

Joel is the author of the #1 bestselling Meritropolis series—“The Hunger Games meets The Village with a young Jack Reacher as a protagonist”.

Joel is a Christian, CEO, CERTIFIED FINANCIAL PLANNER™, author, angel investor, and serial entrepreneur who loves creating new things, whether books or businesses. He is the founder of a number of web startups and currently serves as the CEO and lead operator of 360 Quote, a private equity backed platform company in the online lead generation space, the co-founder and CEO of a B2B SaaS software company, Exercise.com, and has also previously served as the founder and resident CFP® of a national insurance agency, Real Time Health Quotes.


Many thanks to Propeller Consulting, LLC for providing a copy of the book in exchange for this review and post.

About Angela

Angela is a freelance travel writer and lifestyle blogger, blessed with 3 beautiful daughters, 5 moody cats, 1 spoiled dog, and 1 very supportive husband.

0 comments :

Post a Comment